Bob's Angry Rants

2002
2003
2004
Current

It's an ACRONYM!

10/30/2002 - 2:37 p.m.

I hate people who don't understand acronyms. Today, Martha (my co-worker) was complaining that her "PIN number" wasn't working. I guess I can't really blame her too much for this one, since it seems to have worked its way into the common vernacular. But that still doesn't make it right. I'm not happy about "irregardless" making its way into dictionaries either. The next thing you know, "new-kew-lar" will become a valid pronunciation. I don't see why I should have to adjust my vocabulary just because everybody else is a moron.

I mean, to me, using any of the above just sounds stupid. "Why won't this computer accept my personal identification number number?" It would be like talking about the NAFTA agreement.

Just in case you were curious, Martha's password wasn't working because she had entered her login incorrectly. Martha is the one of most incompetent computer users I have ever come across. She is so deathly afraid of the internet that, in order to respond to e-mail, she prints out a copy of the e-mail, writes her response on the bottom and then faxes it back to the sender. I have pointed out to her that it would probably be easier and faster to just click on the "Reply" button, but she has informed me that she doesn't trust e-mail. And when she says she doesn't trust e-mail, she doesn't mean that she's uncertain as to whether it will deliver her message or not. She means that she doesn't trust it not to reach out of her computer and drag her back down to the fiery depths of hell from whence it came.

I just wish she stop talking to me. It causes me to lose what little faith in mankind that I have left.

previous - next

Profile
Sign my Guestbook
Contact Me

Recent Entries


Six Million Dollar Blog
06/11/2005

No, don't look at me!
04/27/2005

Will Shortz is a fucking freakshow.
03/17/2005

I am the biggest nerd I know.
03/16/2005

Bob vs. Pole
03/15/2005

Visitors since 11/21/02
Hosted by www.diaryland.com