Bob's Angry Rants

2002
2003
2004
Current

An open letter to Californians not registered to vote

11/01/2002 - 9:49 a.m.

For those of you who don't live in California, Proposition 52 is a proposed law that will make it possible for people to register to vote on election day by presenting ID at a polling place.


Dear non-voters:

I am voting against Proposition 52, and let me tell you why. Most of the arguments against the proposition revolve around potential fraud or ineligible voters being allowed to vote. My argument is much simpler. If you are so lazy that you haven't taken 5 minutes out of your life to register, I don't want you polluting the political process with your uninformed opinions.

Currently, a voter registration application must be postmarked a whopping 15 days before election day. That means that since the travesty of the 2000 elections, in which you also didn't vote, you've had 715 days to get this done. With all of the voter registration drives that are going on, you have had to consciously avoid getting registered. I mean, there are people out there willing to mail in your registration for you if you would just take a few minutes to fill out the form. But you didn't do that, did you. No, because you don't really care about politics and the only reason that you might vote on election day, given the option, is that you saw some really compelling partisan propaganda ad during "Friends" last night. So please forgive me if I don't want your ignorant votes to cancel those of someone who actually gives a crap.

That is why I am voting "no" on Proposition 52. If you don't like it, then go cast your own "yes" vote. Oh wait... you can't.

Your friendly neighborhood registered voter,

Robert *****

previous - next

Profile
Sign my Guestbook
Contact Me

Recent Entries


Six Million Dollar Blog
06/11/2005

No, don't look at me!
04/27/2005

Will Shortz is a fucking freakshow.
03/17/2005

I am the biggest nerd I know.
03/16/2005

Bob vs. Pole
03/15/2005

Visitors since 11/21/02
Hosted by www.diaryland.com