Bob's Angry Rants

2002
2003
2004
Current

Screw the Heartland.

11/14/2002 - 11:34 a.m.

Nancy Pelosi was elected the House Minority Leader today, and I am overjoyed. I had previously thought that for the next two years I would only be bitching and moaning as Republicans ruined our country. Now, while I still plan on doing a lot of bitching and moaning, I also have something to cheer. Finally we have a real Democrat in a position of power who isn't afraid of Bush and his cronies.

I am sick and tired of hearing all of these pundits (Republican and Democrat alike) whining about how Pelosi is a "Latte Liberal" or a "San Francisco Democrat" and that she is too liberal to lead the party. Republicans have been putting arch-conservatives in power for a while now and all the Democrats have done to respond is become more conservative. By not fielding liberals of our own, we've not only moved towards the center, we've allowed the Republicans to re-define where the center is.

Some worry that her election may turn off some Americans from the Heartland. Well, screw the Heartland. They've been holding us back for too long. They can either come along for the ride or be left behind.

Swing voters piss me off. Why can't these people make up their mind and pick a side. It's good versus evil here, people. At the same time, most Democrats look so similar to Republicans that it is understandable that people can't figure out which side to pick. This is why having a true Democrat in the spotlight is a good thing.

According to the AP, Rep. Harold Ford, running against Pelosi, said that he was better equipped to lead the party back toward the political center. I say, "FUCK THE POLITICAL CENTER." Let's get as far away from there as possible. Let's be Democrats again, for god's sake. It is time to set ourselves apart as the party who gives a shit.

Nancy Pelosi is a Democrat and she isn't ashamed of it. And now, neither am I.

previous - next

Profile
Sign my Guestbook
Contact Me

Recent Entries


Six Million Dollar Blog
06/11/2005

No, don't look at me!
04/27/2005

Will Shortz is a fucking freakshow.
03/17/2005

I am the biggest nerd I know.
03/16/2005

Bob vs. Pole
03/15/2005

Visitors since 11/21/02
Hosted by www.diaryland.com