Bob's Angry Rants

2002
2003
2004
Current

Am I a Luddite?

12/12/2002 - 11:42 a.m.

I miss card catalogs.

I know that this must make me seem insane, but I don't like reference material on computers. I've owned 2 or 3 encyclopedia CD-ROMs and never used any of them. I still remember the day when the local library got rid of their card catalogs and switched over to a computer database. It was a sad day. There is just something about actually flipping pages or rifling through cards that I find very appealing.

While computer based resources may make it easier to search for a specific item, they are terrible for browsing. You can't, for the most part just flip around until something interesting catches your eye. You never stumble across things in a database. You just type in the subject you are looking for, and it pops up. With a card catalog or a dictionary, you may come across some interesting entries while looking for the one you wanted.

I guess I just like things to have a nice tactile component. Hitting the page down key just doesn't stack up against holding a book in your hands, turning the pages and whatnot. I also prefer board games to computer games, usually. Clicking the mouse a dozen times just doesn't compare with picking up a game piece, physically moving it across the board and slamming it down to emphasize your brilliant move.

I still carry a pen and paper notebook. I've considered getting a PDA of some sort, but I just don't think it would be the same. I think that it is sad that many younger people never experienced card catalogs and seem to eschew books and non-video media.

On that note, I think it is time for me to go sit on the porch and complain about kids and their newfangled, damnfool contraptions and their confounded rap music.

previous - next

Profile
Sign my Guestbook
Contact Me

Recent Entries


Six Million Dollar Blog
06/11/2005

No, don't look at me!
04/27/2005

Will Shortz is a fucking freakshow.
03/17/2005

I am the biggest nerd I know.
03/16/2005

Bob vs. Pole
03/15/2005

Visitors since 11/21/02
Hosted by www.diaryland.com