Bob's Angry Rants

2002
2003
2004
Current

Weclome back!

01/06/2003 - 2:08 p.m.

Well, I'm back.

I did get kind of odd welcome back to work though.

When I came in on Monday, my boss Alice came down to my desk and wished me a Merry Christmas/Happy New Year and what not. Pretty normal so far.

She then gave me a Christmas card and gift. Still normal.

As I read the card and opened the gift (a combination key locater/flashlight) she told me how happy she was that I worked here and that I was a good addition to the team. Still normal, if getting a little odd.

Then she hugged me from behind (I was sitting in my chair) and gave me a kiss (more than a peck, less than a smooch) on the cheek. Definitely not normal.

Now it is possible that I'm being over-sensitive. I'm sure that many people think nothing of frenching the CEO before starting their day, but I'm just not sure. Is this creepy or am I just overreacting? Let me know.

For reference, I am 27 and I would guess that Alice is in her mid-forties.

On the one hand, it is nice to know that my work is appreciated, even though I don't really do anything. On the other hand, being kissed by my boss made me feel really weird. Also, what a crappy gift! I can't even think of someone that I would want to re-gift it on. I realize that it is the thought that counts but, frankly, this was the product of a pretty pathetic thought.

previous - next

Profile
Sign my Guestbook
Contact Me

Recent Entries


Six Million Dollar Blog
06/11/2005

No, don't look at me!
04/27/2005

Will Shortz is a fucking freakshow.
03/17/2005

I am the biggest nerd I know.
03/16/2005

Bob vs. Pole
03/15/2005

Visitors since 11/21/02
Hosted by www.diaryland.com