Bob's Angry Rants

2002
2003
2004
Current

Don't call it a comeback.

01/07/2003 - 4:32 p.m.

On Sunday, the 49ers staged one of the most impressive comebacks in NFL playoff history. It was, indeed, a great game to watch.

I have to wonder, however, why people are pouring such accolades on this team. Don't get me wrong, I like the Niners. But praising them for coming back from a 24 point deficit seems a little like praising a surgeon for saving a patient after stabbing him 6 times. I mean, in order to stage a huge comeback, at one point you have to have fucked up royally. At my job, for example, if I got lazy and missed a deadline and then had to scramble around all day doing rush work and making special arrangements, would I get praised for making a fantastic comeback? No, of course not. I would get reprimanded for creating the situation in the first place. Which is as it should be.

This is not to say that scoring 25 unanswered points in 19 minutes isn't pretty damn impressive. It is just that they get paid to win. They squeeked by on this one by one point due to a bad field goal and apparently a bad call. So, why all the hubbub? They did what they were supposed to do.

Also, what is the big deal about players "stepping up and making plays" when the starters are out with an injury? Normal people have to "step up" all the time when people from the office get sick or take vacation and no one is singing their praises. These people get paid millions of dollars to play football well and then when they perform, we act like we are lucky that they just showed up.

So, yes, it was a great game and yes, the Niners did play a fantastic fourth quarter, but lets not forget that a) there were 40 minutes of that game in which they played much less than fantastic and b) ITS THEIR JOB!

previous - next

Profile
Sign my Guestbook
Contact Me

Recent Entries


Six Million Dollar Blog
06/11/2005

No, don't look at me!
04/27/2005

Will Shortz is a fucking freakshow.
03/17/2005

I am the biggest nerd I know.
03/16/2005

Bob vs. Pole
03/15/2005

Visitors since 11/21/02
Hosted by www.diaryland.com