Bob's Angry Rants

2002
2003
2004
Current

Exercise those choppers, really chew, chew, chew.

07/29/2003 - 3:35 p.m.

Okay, so I admit it. I have not been taking good care of my teeth. I mean I brush twice a day (okay, sometimes just once), but I don't floss. And I haven't been to the dentist in 4 or 5 years. *pause for collective gasp* Yes, that's right. It's been so long, that I don't even remember the name of my last dentist. But I guess it comes down to the fact that once I was off of my parents' insurance and on my own, I just never got around to picking one. And once you start putting something off, it's hard to stop. Plus the idea of confronting the situation got worse each time and made me want to put it off more. The thought of going into the dentist's office and telling them that I hadn't been to the dentist in 2 years seemed daunting, then 3 years rolled around, and then 4. It just got to the point where I couldn't put it off any longer.

So, this morning, I finally went in for an appointment. The results? Lots of cavities. I need to get 5 fillings on Thursday. I also apparently need something called "deep cleaning." Which sounds perfectly innocent, but since I apparently need to be anesthetized for the procedure, I suspect that it is actually much worse than it sounds.

Now, I'm certain that everyone is disgusted by my dental hygiene, or lack thereof, but what can you do. I'm working on it. I have to admit, now that I've gone for the first time, I feel a lot better. The second visit will be a piece of cake. And now that I'm in the system again, I'll have regular visits set up. It's really quite the relief to have it off my chest.

So, if you are reading this and you haven't been to the dentist in the past year or so, do it! It can only get worse. Also, apparently flossing is very important. I'm going to try and get into the habit. Oh, and don't drown your food. In mayo or ketchup or goo.

previous - next

Profile
Sign my Guestbook
Contact Me

Recent Entries


Six Million Dollar Blog
06/11/2005

No, don't look at me!
04/27/2005

Will Shortz is a fucking freakshow.
03/17/2005

I am the biggest nerd I know.
03/16/2005

Bob vs. Pole
03/15/2005

Visitors since 11/21/02
Hosted by www.diaryland.com