Bob's Angry Rants

2002
2003
2004
Current

Gift basket

04/30/2003 - 12:35 p.m.

I just wanted to share with the world that I have a wonderful wife. I've been really stressed out lately, between work and school. At work, we're having these annual reviews and the attorneys I work for have been trying to get all of their files in order and giving me all kinds of work and freaking out about stuff that hasn't been done. And then at school, finals are coming up next week. It's just all kinds of no good. I'm not even sure if she realizes how stressed I feel. I mean, I'm not really one to talk about my "emotions" or "feelings" or "anything remotely resembling something serious." She probably did know, though. She's good at figuring that kind of thing out. Although, if she didn't know then, she does now. (Hi, sweetheart!).

So anyway, I get home from work (I get home about an hour before she does, due to differences in commute times) and Carlos (the front desk guy) gives me a giant box that arrived in the mail. Now, I'm dying with curiosity. It's addressed to me, but I definitely don't recall ordering anything that could require a box anywhere near this size. I'm not good at dimensions, but it was big enough for me to squeeze into, and close the top, I think.

So I get it up to the apartment and tear it open there is a card and another box. The card is from Anne. It says, "I hope this helps you study." Inside the second box is a gift basket with root beer, chips, salsa, pretzels and nuts. Root beer (Thomas Kempers, mmmmmm...) and snacks! How terrific is that? I go through a lot of snack food when I study. It's a bad habit, I know. Reading this now, I realize that it may not seem like much, but I was blown away.

To tell the truth, I almost cried. Did I mention that I've been under a lot of stress? I think that can make a person more susceptible to mood swings and whatnot. I mean, I wouldn't want you to think that I'm a wuss or anything. As a man, I only cry as a result of great physical pain. And maybe at the end of "The Brave Little Toaster." It gets me every time.

Anyway, sufficed to say, I was really moved by this gift. Spontaneous gift giving is the best, in my opinion. I mean there are no expectations, so it is a great gift regardless of what it is. And when it is a great gift already, then it just goes off the charts. Of course, using up good gift ideas can leave you high and dry come birthdays or Christmas (or whatever gift-giving holidays you may or may not celebrate).

So, there's no real point to this story except to say that my wife is terrific and she's all mine and you can't have her. Nyaah. You also can't have my root beer. Which is also terrific. Although not as terrific as my wife.

previous - next

Profile
Sign my Guestbook
Contact Me

Recent Entries


Six Million Dollar Blog
06/11/2005

No, don't look at me!
04/27/2005

Will Shortz is a fucking freakshow.
03/17/2005

I am the biggest nerd I know.
03/16/2005

Bob vs. Pole
03/15/2005

Visitors since 11/21/02
Hosted by www.diaryland.com