Bob's Angry Rants

2002
2003
2004
Current

Big news

01/21/2004 - 4:41 p.m.

It�s been a while and there�s a lot of ground to cover here.

The big news is that I have recently become unemployed. This, as you may have guessed, sucks. Though, not quite as much as it might, since I was already planning to leave my last job. This means, of course, that there will be no more Martha stories. While this is a sad loss of a source of humorous stories, it is a plus that I no longer have to be a participant in said stories.

Not having to go to work all day isn�t quite as fun as it might sound. I mean, sure I�ve got a lot of time on my hands and I can sleep in, but really it�s just time in which I can think about the fact that I don�t have a job. I�ve got severance for another three so it�s not like I�m hurting for money. The real issue is feeling kind of useless. Without some sort of agenda, I can turn around and find that half the day has slipped away and I haven�t accomplished anything. It doesn�t get more depressing than that.

I do spend time on the job search, which is progressing. I�ve got an interview on Friday, so I�m hoping that goes well. I haven�t got quite as many responses to my resumes as I initially hoped, but it is still relatively early in the process, so I�m still hopeful. If anyone who reads this needs (or knows someone who needs) a paralegal or legal secretary in the San Francisco Bay Area, let me know.

School has started up again, which does give me something to do, but really, it doesn�t help that much. Being gone in the evenings just means that time I spend with Anne gets cropped. Alone all at home all day, and then when my wife is at home, I�m at school. It�s just a whole world of suckiness.

Getting away from the moroseness of unemployment, I am really starting to bring home the bucks with my online poker winnings. I know it sounds sketchy, but I make quite a bit at it. In the past week, I�ve won something in the range of $800-900. That includes a big $500+ tournament win, but even my ring games net between $50 and $100 a session. I could never play poker for real income, but as a supplement it�s pretty sweet. Anne has listen to me talk about it and been forced to watch so much poker on TV that she�s gotten to the point where she really understands the game and even knows the personalities involved. She�s a bit perturbed by this, but I think that it�s adorable.

That�s the news from the land of the jobless. I�m making a commitment to write an entry for this site at least every other day, as a way to keep myself from vegging out during the long days, so look out for updates on my quest for employment. Cross your fingers for me.

previous - next

Profile
Sign my Guestbook
Contact Me

Recent Entries


Six Million Dollar Blog
06/11/2005

No, don't look at me!
04/27/2005

Will Shortz is a fucking freakshow.
03/17/2005

I am the biggest nerd I know.
03/16/2005

Bob vs. Pole
03/15/2005

Visitors since 11/21/02
Hosted by www.diaryland.com