Bob's Angry Rants

2002
2003
2004
Current

Martha's Quest for Tires

03/25/2003 - 4:03 p.m.

So, Martha has been looking for a car for the last 9 months or so. About as long as I've been working here. To date, she has been unsuccessful. The Blue Book price on the car she wants (an Infiniti) is listed at $20,000. The prices of the available used cars range from $12,000 to $18,000. Martha is willing to pay $8,000-$9,000.

Her conversations with sellers typically go something like this:

***

Martha: Yes, I'm calling about the car you have on Craig's List.

Seller: *Something about the blue book price.*

Martha: Don't talk to me about some book! I don't live my life according to a book, do you?! I will give you $8,000 for this car. My life isn't dictated by some stupid book! Puh-lease. I will pay you what the car is worth to me, not what it is worth to some goddamn book!

Seller: *Tries to reason with her.*

Martha: Look! I don't care what other people think the car is worth! You need to stop being unreasonable and drop your price by several thousand dollars. Give me a call when you stop dreaming.

***

So, here we are 9 months and dozens of ranting, raving telephone calls later and Martha still doesn't have a car. Hers finally broke down completely last month, but this has not shaken her resolve to pay the amount she has in mind.

And now, the capper. Martha was telling me today that "These people selling their cars need to get with the program! There's a war on!"

Against my better judgment, I inquired exactly what she meant by this statement.

She responded that "Don't these people realize that we're at war! They should be lowering their prices!"

I mentioned that I didn't think that there was a direct connection between war and the price of used cars.

"Well, there should be! There is to me!," Martha responded, "They're fighting for oil over there and cars use gas. They should realize that their prices should be lower."

I suggested that maybe she should try that logic the next time she spoke to someone selling an Infiniti. She replied that she certainly would.

I can't wait.

previous - next

Profile
Sign my Guestbook
Contact Me

Recent Entries


Six Million Dollar Blog
06/11/2005

No, don't look at me!
04/27/2005

Will Shortz is a fucking freakshow.
03/17/2005

I am the biggest nerd I know.
03/16/2005

Bob vs. Pole
03/15/2005

Visitors since 11/21/02
Hosted by www.diaryland.com