Bob's Angry Rants

2002
2003
2004
Current

Three stories about stupid people.

08/28/2003 - 9:11 a.m.

Last week, my company sent me to Sacramento (about 1.5-2 hours away) for two days of Diversity and Inclusion training. At the end of the first day we had an activity described as a dessert survival simulation. I'm sure that many of you have partaken in similar activities. Basically, you have to prioritize a list of items based on how helpful they would be to a group of people stranded in the desert.

The first thing that we did was assign priorities individually. Once we did that, we broke up into groups of 5 to discuss our ideas and come to a group consensus. Nobody agreed with me that we should just stay put and wait for rescue and not try to undertake a 3 or 4 day trek across the desert. I fought for about 5 to 10 minutes (out of 45 allotted), but eventually relented, as time was ticking away, and the fact that I don't actually know anything about desert survival helped, too. To make a long story short, when we came back and found out the actual order (as conceived by an expert in desert survival) it turns out that I had the best score in the class, individually, and that our group plan would have probably gotten us killed.

I think we were supposed to learn something about communication and teamwork, but what I learned was that I'm surrounded by morons and that teamwork is for people who want to die in the desert of dehydration and gross stupidity.

***

In other news about stupid people, they removed that monument of the Ten Commandments from the rotunda of the Alabama Supreme Court building yesterday. Protestors were on hand, of course. Rick Moser told reporters that, "They can move it out of view but they can't move it out of our hearts."

Well, Rick, I know that I don't speak for everyone, but as far as I'm concerned that's perfectly fine with me. Nobody is interested in moving it out of your heart. In fact, I think we'd all love it if you kept it right there. In fact, you can fill all of your organs with the glory of God, and I don't think that you'll hear one complaint about it. I'm pretty sure that it was the whole 5,000+ pound monument in a government building thing that was the issue.

***

Since we're talking about stupid people, here's a Martha tidbit:

Martha (talking about an attorney): He always gets all ariated!

Me: He gets what?

Martha: Ariated!

Me: I don't know that word. What does it mean?

Martha: It's just a word! We don't all have to be technical like you. It's not from Webster's!

Me: So its slang? What does it mean?

Martha: I don't know! You know! [makes spasming motions with her arms and sputters]

Me: Worked up?

Martha: It's just a word!

A quick web search reveals only that people have trouble spelling the word "aerated." As in, "the soil should be ariated," or "the room smelled much better after it was ariated." But, somehow, I don't think that Martha was trying to say that this gentleman was exposed to oxygen.

***

Morons, morons, everywhere and not a thought to think.

previous - next

Profile
Sign my Guestbook
Contact Me

Recent Entries


Six Million Dollar Blog
06/11/2005

No, don't look at me!
04/27/2005

Will Shortz is a fucking freakshow.
03/17/2005

I am the biggest nerd I know.
03/16/2005

Bob vs. Pole
03/15/2005

Visitors since 11/21/02
Hosted by www.diaryland.com