Bob's Angry Rants

2002
2003
2004
Current

I am the biggest nerd I know.

03/16/2005 - 5:13 p.m.

Yesterday, The Incredibles was released DVD and I just had to rush out and purchase a copy right away because that's just the kind of geek I am. But that's not the sad part. I didn't get home 'till late last night because I had class, but this morning I woke up pretty early and decided to watch the movie at 4 o'clock in the morning. And here comes the capper. When all was said and done, my favorite thing about the DVD? Seeing Sarah Vowell's office and the little docu-short about her.

For those who don't know, Sarah Vowell voiced Violet in the movie but is better known to some nerds as a frequent contributor to the Public Radio International show This American Life and author of several books, including "Take the Cannoli" and "Partly Cloudy Patriot."

It was just ridiculous. I mean, how could I be more interested in seeing Sarah Vowell's collection of Abraham Lincoln busts than the Jack-Jack Attack short? What does it mean? I mean, I know I'm a bigger comic book geek than I am a NPR/radio geek. That's just not in question. I think what it comes down to is that I have no attention span. I was excited about the DVD, sure. But that wore off by the time I went to bed that night. When I got up in the morning, it was all about seeing a radio personality's wall decorations.

Anyway, I highly recommend the movie, if you haven't seen it yet. And if you're a TAL fan, go ahead and rent disc two for the Vowellet short, you geek.

previous - next

Profile
Sign my Guestbook
Contact Me

Recent Entries


Six Million Dollar Blog
06/11/2005

No, don't look at me!
04/27/2005

Will Shortz is a fucking freakshow.
03/17/2005

I am the biggest nerd I know.
03/16/2005

Bob vs. Pole
03/15/2005

Visitors since 11/21/02
Hosted by www.diaryland.com