Bob's Angry Rants

2002
2003
2004
Current

Sad, but true.

11/12/2002 - 1:36 p.m.

This is more sad than it is angry.

For those who know me, this will probably come as no surprise, but, as usual, I am the last to know. I am a geek.

I've always known that I was pretty nerdy, but I didn't realize how much so until I caught myself describing the Oxford English Dictionary as "bad-ass." (This came up in reference to this letter). Now, I don't care how impressive a dictionary is, you don't call one "bad-ass" unless you are a serious geek.

I still recall the day, about three years ago, when I was looking through one of my Anne's magazines and I came across a little pictogram of things (clothing, music, etc.) that were "In" and other things that were now "Out." Now, not only did I not recognize anything in the "In" column, I didn't recognize anything that was in the "Out" column either. Popular culture had come and gone while I was totally oblivious. It was at this point that I realized that I would never be, if indeed I ever was, "hip."

And now it seems that I've moved beyond just being "not hip" and have crossed over into "total geek" as I drool over a dictionary. Over 291,500 entries and 2.5 million quotations, baby! Woo hoo!

Now my friends will say, "Of course you are a total geek. Didn't you know?" I guess I did know, in my heart of hearts, that I was, but... I'd always hoped that I was cool.

previous - next

Profile
Sign my Guestbook
Contact Me

Recent Entries


Six Million Dollar Blog
06/11/2005

No, don't look at me!
04/27/2005

Will Shortz is a fucking freakshow.
03/17/2005

I am the biggest nerd I know.
03/16/2005

Bob vs. Pole
03/15/2005

Visitors since 11/21/02
Hosted by www.diaryland.com