Bob's Angry Rants

2002
2003
2004
Current

I'm shocked.

12/19/2002 - 10:55 a.m.

After much public commentary and punditry, I have come to a conclusion. I don't give a shit whether Trent Lott steps down or not. He doesn't represent my state or my party. Senate Republicans are the ones who need to decide if they want him around. If the Republicans decide that Lott properly represents their interests, then that is their prerogative. Everyone else should just shut up.

But I have to ask... Was anyone surprised that Trent Lott is a racist? I mean, c'mon. It's like being shocked that Dick Armey is a homophobe. Everyone knows it. The only real shock was that he was dumb enough to say something about it in public. I mean, the bar has been drastically lowered when it comes to what people expect out of their politicians. You are no longer expected to be smart, eloquent, educated or even honest. All that is expected of you is that you not become an embarrassment to your constituents and your party.

His constituents and his party could care less that he is a racist and that he does his best to undermine civil rights legislation and minorities at every turn. Many of them probably support such action. No, what they don't like is that he essentially admitted to it in public. I guarantee you that none of them give a shit about the status of minorities in our society or the difficulties they face. If you look at the sound bites coming out of Washington, it is apparent that the only important thing here is image, not substance. The message is "It doesn't matter if we act like racists as long as we don't look like racists."

Don't get me wrong, I hope that this whole thing hurts the Republican party and hurts them badly. I just think it is absurd that everyone is acting like this is some big shock. Here's some breaking news for ya: George W. Bush is a fucking moron. Now, if only pundits would start talking about that, maybe Bush would be forced to step down.

Hey, I can dream, can't I?

previous - next

Profile
Sign my Guestbook
Contact Me

Recent Entries


Six Million Dollar Blog
06/11/2005

No, don't look at me!
04/27/2005

Will Shortz is a fucking freakshow.
03/17/2005

I am the biggest nerd I know.
03/16/2005

Bob vs. Pole
03/15/2005

Visitors since 11/21/02
Hosted by www.diaryland.com