Bob's Angry Rants

2002
2003
2004
Current

The nationality of junk food.

03/12/2003 - 9:12 a.m.

Is it just me, or are people getting dumber by the second? Apparently, Reps. Bob Ney (R-Ohio) and Walter Jones (R-North Carolina) have decided that three cafeterias that serve the House of Representatives will no longer serve french fries or french toast. No, now they will be called freedom fries and freedom toast. This is apparently in protest of France not blindly doing whatever the Bush administration tells it to do.

There are so many things wrong with this that I barely know where to start.

First of all, french fries aren't even French. They are named for the way in which the potatoes are cut, in that they are "frenched." So, right off the bat, we look stupid for attacking something just because it has the word "french" in it.

Secondly, in addition to making us look stupid, it also makes us look like a petulant child. "Well, if you won't back my war, then I won't use your name any more. So there. Nyaah.�

It's just all so depressing. Our elected officials are supposed to be the smartest, cleverest people that we have. That is the whole point of a representative government. But, instead they are just as stupid, if not more so, than the general public. I mean, I could understand if some local deli decided to do something like this, but this is the Federal Government we're talking about here, people! Time and energy were expended to make this happen! And, I'm sorry, but this country is not in a state where it can waste time and energy on something as childish and as stupid as this.

I'm not even really sure why they are picking on France, when half the free world opposes Bush's war. I suppose it is primarily because we don't have a fast food product called "Iraqi Fries."

I guess France makes a pretty easy target since many Americans are already predisposed to dislike France, based on their preconceptions of the French people. Also, changing Russian Roulette to Freedom Roulette probably wasn't the image they were going for.

Well, that's enough U.S. bashing for today. I think I'll engage in some freedom kissing with my wife tonight to re-affirm my patriotism.

previous - next

Profile
Sign my Guestbook
Contact Me

Recent Entries


Six Million Dollar Blog
06/11/2005

No, don't look at me!
04/27/2005

Will Shortz is a fucking freakshow.
03/17/2005

I am the biggest nerd I know.
03/16/2005

Bob vs. Pole
03/15/2005

Visitors since 11/21/02
Hosted by www.diaryland.com